Hayward Award

Joyce S. Hayward Award for Historic Interpretation
Named for a long-time member of the Association and one of the leader’s in the region’s avocational shipwreck archaeology movement, the Joyce S. Hayward Award for Historic Interpretation is given annually to an individual who has made a major contribution to the interpretation of Great Lakes maritime history, in furtherance of the goals of the Association. The honoree is recognized at our Annual Maritime History Conference in September, and the Association will pay for the lodging and conference registration fee of the award recipient and his/her guest.

Please review the award criteria below and submit your nomination by e-mail to Bob O’Donnell, chair of the Association’s Awards Committee, at odonnell521@aol.com or print out the paper nomination form and mail it to the address shown on the form. Nominations are accepted throughout the year.

Nomination Criteria

1. Nominees may be either paid professionals or volunteers of an institutional member of the Association or an individual member of the Association.

2. Nominees are evaluated based on their personal contributions to an institution, several institutions, and/or the field of Great Lakes maritime history.

3. Contributions to be recognized can be made in such areas as exhibits that result in new or unique interpretations of Great Lakes maritime history, programs that have a major educational impact in a community or region, or to promote inter-institution collaboration on exhibits or educational programs, etc.

4. Nominees should be recognized for contributions made over a period of five years or more.

Nomination Guidelines

1. Nominations must be made by the executive director or a board member of an institutional Association member, or an individual Association member.

2. Nominators must complete a nomination form that includes specific examples of the nominee’s contributions to historic interpretation.

3. Completed nominations should be submitted or mailed to the chair of the Awards Committee and postmarked or submitted no later than May 28th.

Judging Process

1. A three-person committee, selected by the Association’s Board of Directors, will judge the nominations and make their recommendations to the board prior to the annual meeting.

2. A short profile of the award winner will be published in the annual meeting issue of the Association’s newsletter and on its website.

The Association for Great Lakes Maritime History is an organization of institutions and individuals from throughout Canada and the U.S. involved in preserving and interpreting the unique maritime history of the Great Lakes region.